Regional Coalition Elects New Executive Committee

July 12, 2015   |  JLH Media

Download News Article (PDF)

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/ on line 189

Regional Coalition Elects New Executive Committee

Board elected new Executive Committee and received presentations from the leaders
of the Santa Fe Higher Education Center and Northern NM REDI Net Broadband Network

July 12, 2015; Santa Fe, New Mexico: The Regional Coalition of LANL Communities held their monthly board meeting on Friday, July 10, 2015 in Los Alamos. Executive Committee elections for Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary/Treasurer resulted in a complete change over to a new slate of officers. Incumbent Chair, Mayor Alice Lucero from the City of Española, was changed to Commissioner Barney Trujillo of Rio Arriba County. Mayor of Santa Fe, Javier Gonzales, replaced Vice-Chair Andrew Gonzales, Town Councilor of Taos. The position of Secretary/Treasure, formerly held by Mayor Gonzales, was changed over to Councilor Kristin Henderson of Los Alamos County. Councilor Henderson joins the Coalition as Los Alamos County’s new representative with member Councilor Steven Girrens becoming the Los Alamos County alternate.

The new Chair of the Coalition, Barney Trujillo, stated, “I feel like I can do a very good job in terms of coordination, leadership, and bridging the gap that exists between our communities and the Laboratory. The Laboratory has done a very good job, but there are a lot of voices that need to be heard from our communities, and I believe that I can be that voice.” Trujillo has served as the Commissioner of District 1 for Rio Arriba County since 2011 and has more than 12 years of experience in NM state government.

Following the election the Board received a presentation from Rebecca Estrada, the Executive Director of the Higher Education Center (HEC), and Randy Griscom, the President of Santa Fe Community College (SFCC). The HEC partners with the Institute of American Indian Arts, New Mexico Highlands University, New Mexico State University, the University of New Mexico, the Santa Fe Small Business Development Center, and other organizations to bring affordable and accessible bachelor’s and graduate programs to the communities in and around Santa Fe.

Following Estrada’s presentation, Duncan Sill, General Manager of REDI Net, presented information and crucial updates on work to develop and produce an Open Access Community Broadband Network serving Northern New Mexico. Construction on REDI Net, a middle-mile broadband project, was completed in September 2013 and primarily serves traditional, tribal, and rural communities, providing access to a high-speed broadband network. REDI Net is unique in that it is owned and operated by local and tribal governments through a Joint Powers Agreement and is managed by representatives of partner governments for the next 20 years. All profits are reinvested in maintaining and improving the network utility. Many of the communities served by REDI Net are communities represented within the Regional Coalition.

The next monthly Board meeting will be held on August 14th, 2015 in the Santa Fe County Chambers. Agenda items will include a recap of the Energy Communities Alliance Peer Exchange on the implementation of the Manhattan Project National Historic Park taking place in Los Alamos July 15th-17th and approving the Board’s travel to Washington D.C. in the month of September. The meeting is free and open to the public.


For media inquiries, please contact: Lindi Douglass, 806-584-1076,

ABOUT THE REGIONAL COALITION: The Regional Coalition is comprised of nine cities, towns, counties and pueblos surrounding the Department of Energy’s Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). Founded in 2011, the Regional Coalition works in partnership to ensure national decisions incorporate local needs and concerns. The organization’s focus is environmental remediation, regional economic development and site employment, and adequate funding for LANL. The 2015 Board of Directors includes Chair, Commissioner Barney Trujillo, Rio Arriba County; Vice-Chair, Mayor Javier Gonzales, City of Santa Fe; Secretary/Treasurer, Councilor Kristin Henderson, Los Alamos County; Mayor Alice Lucero, City of Española, Commissioner Henry Roybal, Santa Fe County; Andrew Gonzales, Town of Taos; Commissioner Mark Gallegos, Taos County; Governor Earl Salazar, Pueblo of Ohkay Owingeh; and Governor Raymond Loretto, Pueblo of Jemez;