Board of Directors

Commissioner Henry Roybal

County of Santa Fe

Chair of Regional Coalition of LANL Communities

Commissioner Henry P. Roybal was honored to be elected as Santa Fe County (County) Commissioner for District 1 for a four year term beginning January 2015. Commissioner Roybal also serves on Santa Fe Metropolitan Planning Organization (Vice Chair), Regional Coalition of LANL Communities, Santa Fe Solid Waste Management Agency, Santa Fe County Housing Authority, Santa Fe County Board of Finance and also serves as an alternate board member to Buckman Direct diversion and North Central Regional Transit District. His charitable works include: President for Young American Football League (YAFL), President of the Pojoaque Valley Little League, Head Coach at the Pojoaque Valley Junior High School and Assistant Coach Pojoaque Valley High School, and the Athletic Coordinator for the Pojoaque Valley Intermediate School and as a Foster Parent for children in need.

Commissioner Roybal and his parents Henry and Amelia Roybal are both life-long residents of the Pojoaque community, as well as extended members of his family. Henry has been married to Marlene (Naranjo) Roybal for 23 years he has 3 children that he has also raised in Pojoaque Valley Amber Roybal, Alyssa Roybal and Henry Paul Roybal JR. He received his degrees at NNMC in Electronic Packaging and Design and Electromechanical Engineering Design. In his professional life, Henry has 19 years of experience Federal and County government working for Los Alamos National Laboratory and Santa Fe County.

Commissioner Henry Roybal

Commissioner Barney Trujillo

County of Rio Arriba

Vice-Chair of Regional Coalition of LANL Communities

Commissioner Barney Trujillo is originally from Chimayo, NM and became Commissioner of District 1 in 2010. Commissioner Trujillo has more than 12 years of experience in state government and has actively taken part in projects involving oil and gas, commercial development, renewable energy, and agriculture. Other professional experience includes budget management for the State Land Office and securing funding for special needs projects with the Legislature and Congress. He has served on the Legislative Council Service (1998-1999) and worked in the State Land Office (2000-2010).

Commissioner Trujillo has been active in grazing, ranching and farming, which allows him to understand the needs of this agricultural county. His interests also include zoning and land use; Oil and Gas (revenue generation and reclamation); and Public Relations and Marketing work on major Economic Development projects.

Alternate: David Trujillo, Assistant County Manager

Councilor Peter Ives

City of Santa Fe

Treasurer of Regional Coalition of LANL Communities

Councilor Morrie Pongratz

County of Los Alamos

Secretary of Regional Coalition of LANL Communities

Mayor Javier E. Sanchez

City of Española

Alternate: Councilor Peggy Sue Martinez

Councilor Darien Fernández

Town of Taos

Darien Fernández was elected into office as a Councilor in the Town of Taos in March 2016. He is an entrepreneur and board member for Taos Center for the Arts, and served in the past on the Taos County Juvenile Justice Board. He works to promote sustainable economic development and reduce substance abuse and crime. His key issues for service are to create jobs, enact public safety, and protect water and environment.

Fernández has an Associate of Arts in psychology, South Texas College 2009, Summa Cum Laude. He studied Political Science and English at University of Texas-Pan American, 2009-2011 and UNM-Taos, 2011-2015. He works full-time at Taos Ski Valley and is an Associate Producer at Taos Land & Film Company. He is a Partner and Marketing Director for the new Taos Talking Pictures film festival and distribution company in Taos.

Alternate: Mayor Daniel R. Barrone, Town of Taos

County Commissioner Mark Gallegos

County of Taos

Mark Gallegos is the Commissioner for District 2 in Taos County. He also holds the position as Mayor of Questa since March 2015 after serving for 10 years on the Questa village council. He is a graduate of Questa High School and attended the University of New Mexico.

Alternate: TBD

Representative Ron Lovato

Ohkay Owingeh

Former Governor Ron Lovato currently serves as the Representative of Ohkay Owingeh. He has been involved with Ohkay Owingeh’s Tsay Corporation since 1998 when he served as a Board of Director. In 2001 Ron stepped down from the Board and became Chief Executive Officer.  Under Ron’s leadership Tsay restructured its entire financial system including debt and embarked upon a mission to diversify their business holdings. The results have produced significant growth in revenue and decreased the company’s reliance on gaming (less than 50% today).

Before taking the helm of Tsay Corporation Ron worked in a multitude of capacities for Santa Fe Indian School, Inc., It was during the last 7 years of his 16 tenure there that he became involved with the schools Development Office and found a real passion for business and the development of business assets for the Pueblo communities of New Mexico. Ron is a lifelong resident of Ohkay (San Juan Pueblo) and Northern New Mexico. He is a 1988 graduate of New Mexico State University and received a Masters in 1995 at University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana. 

Ron serves on the Board of Directors for the Regional Development Corporation, Jemez Mountain Electric Cooperative (elected position), Santa Fe Indian School Board and Northern New Mexico College Foundation Board Chairman.

Alternate: Governor Earl Salazar
Representative Ron Lovato

Pueblo of Jemez